Compost heap at base of beech tree

My Copper Beech

I’m joining  Lucy  at  LooseAndLeafy with her meme on Follow  a Tree. When I decided to follow this meme it didn’t take me long to decide on my tree.  We are fortunate enough to have the most wonderful mature copper beech tree at the bottom of our garden.   It is the first thing I look at every morning when I open the bedroom curtains. I recently posted a view of this tree at sunrise in Wordless Wednesday

It is one of the largest trees in the neighbourhood and when in full leaf is magnificent.

Copper beech tree in March

Copper beech tree in March

The tree grows at the border of our garden, behind the garage, so strictly speaking we only own half of it. This could be useful if it ever needs any expensive tree surgery!  This area is where we have previously  thrown all our garden waste into one big heap.  This has probably done the tree good by giving it lots of lovely food.   However, as our supply of mushroom compost ended with the closure of the local mushroom farm  I now find myself in more need of home produced compost for the rest of the garden. From now on the beech tree will just have to share!

Compost heap at base of beech tree

Compost heap at base of beech tree

Growing under the tree is a large yew bush, a wild holly and some weedy shrub that I keep because it is very good for flower arrangements.   There used to be another beech growing fairly close to the left, but we had to make the decision to remove it for the sake of the copper beech.  It was sad to see such a nice tree go, but I am sure it was the right decision.  At one point the copper beech started looking a bit sickly ; the leaves were getting rather sparse.   In fact a tree surgeon told us we should take out the right hand fork of the tree as it was going rotten inside.   We chose to ignore this advise,  given about 20 years ago now, deciding instead to see how the tree went on. Thankfully it recovered by itself and has been fine since.

At this time of the year the tree still has some nut shells hanging on its branches while at the same time its leaf buds are developing.

Nut shells hanging on branches

Nut shells hanging on branches

Beech bud developing

Beech bud developing

The beech nuts and cases still litter the garden – it is impossible to get them all up. I think our resident squirrel is too well fed pinching all the bird’s peanuts.

Beech nuts and cases litter the garden

Beech nuts and cases litter the garden

It will be a long time before the leaves come out – this is one of the last trees to leaf, but meanwhile we can just enjoy the silhouettes of the tree against the changing skies and watch the sunlight play on its trunk and branches.

Sun on copper beech trunk in March

Sun on copper beech trunk in March

I love this tree!

Thanks Lucy for hosting this meme – it is a great idea.

19 thoughts on “My Copper Beech

  1. I love beech trees, yours is beautiful; so majestic but elegant at the same time. They have such lovely grey bark and the new spring leaves are such a gorgeous colour.
    I should think your pile of compost will really help the tree as they are so shallow rooted they suffer terribly from drought.

    • Hi Chloris. I didn’t know that about beech trees suffering from drought. Not actually a problem we have ever had up here, but you never know the way the climate is these days. I will try not to use all the compost for the garden then. I suppose I will just have to make more!
      Annette

  2. You are right about the silhouette. And I look forward to seeing the tree in its full leafy glory and then the autumn colour. Yew – I find the needles/leaves (what do you call them?) rather dull but the bark is fantastic.

    • Hi Lucy. Thanks for hosting this meme – I will really enjoy taking part. The Yew tree came with the house and it forms part of the bottom evergreen hedge, staying a lovely green all year round with very little bother. I don’t actually get to see the bark unfortunately as we need to keep it cut back to hedge size. By the Way, Wikopedia calls them leaves – you learn something everyday with blogging!
      Annette

  3. Pingback: My over-the-road oak, March | Duver Diary

  4. What a gorgeous tree. They are so majestic. Love the idea of the meme and the variety of trees people are following. I chose to follow my poor old Fig tree, and some good is coming out of it, as I have started to research what I should be doing to keep it happy and healthy. I feel very guilty now !

    • Hi Jane, thanks for visiting my copper beech blog. I have just popped over to read about your Fig tree too. I am sure it will benefit from all the care and attention it will now get.

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

