End of Month View: April

We are not as far on as the some parts of the UK, but here in Scotland things are moving on at a pace.

Here is the view from an upstairs window which, I think, gives a good overall picture of the back garden.

Back garden in April

Back garden in April

You can see the herbaceous plants are all growing well – I still need to stake some of them. The yellow forsythia at the bottom of the garden has been the best ever; it is almost ready for pruning now.  The skimmia is covered in white flowers, but it has really grown too large for its position. It, too, is due for a severe chop once the flowers fade. The purple and orange flowers are the perennial wallflower, the erysimum.

The photo above was taken nearly a week ago and since then the white rhododendron, ‘Cunningham’s White’ has flowered – and yes, that too, will be cut back in a few weeks.

Cunningham White rhododendron and Bowles Mauve erysimum

Cunningham White rhododendron and Bowles Mauve erysimum

It is amazing how some wonderful combinations of plants occur all on their own.  These bluebells grow like a weed in my garden and I often try to  pull them up.  However don’t they look great together with the euonymous?

euonymous with bluebells

euonymous with bluebells

Other combinations I do take some credit for:

Bleeding heart with Shirley tulips

Bleeding heart with Shirley tulips

red rhododendron with white wood anemones

red rhododendron with white wood anemones

This corner of the patio is looking great again. A couple of months ago it was because of the iris reticulata; now it is the rhododendrons.

red rhododendrons

red rhododendrons at corner of patio

The rockery, too, is beginning to look better…..

The rockery at the end of April

The rockery at the end of April

I am really looking forward to next month in my Aberdeen garden. The lilac tree is going to flower this year after its year off  – when it does it is magnificent.   Hopefully, too, I will have a good display of my favourite poppies. . . .

Thanks Helen for hosting this End of Month View – it is a great way to keep track of what happens when in your garden.  Why not head over to her blog to see what is happening in other gardens this month.

Next Garden Update: Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day: May in Aberdeen

 

 

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “End of Month View: April

  1. You have a beautiful garden, I love your choice of shrubs and perennials. Your long border has wonderful foliage contrasting with each other, something I think is very important to give year round interest

    • Thanks Pauline. It has been a lot of trial and error and moving things about. Not sure, either, that I have enough interest in the winter, but I just can’t do without all that summer colour. My long border – that is what I will call it! How simple!

  2. Hi Annette
    Im glad its not just me that thinks that needs pruning, oh and that and that!!! It looks good and it is so nice when your careful planning comes to fruitition and an area starts to look good more than once a year.

  3. Wonderful to have a ‘long (and wide) border like that Annette – and useful to be able to see the garden from upstairs as that’s something we can’t do. It’s great to see these wider views of your garden and you will find this monthly meme really helpful if you do it every month. Your rockery is definitely very different from last time!

    • Yes it is a great border for herbaceous plants – and south facing too. I am very lucky. I am trying to do this meme every month when I am here as I know it will be really interesting and invaluable for garden planning.

  4. Your garden is lovely and I am impressed; it is absolutely immaculate with a beautifully mown lawn and not a weed in sight. You have some lovely colour combinations. Your bluebells look like lovely native ones father than the Spanish interlopers which are all over my garden.

    • Thanks Chloris, Mike and I have worked hard at the weeding this year as we are having a garden party in the summer. How do you tell the difference between the bluebells? Mine still spread everywhere and have started turning pink too.

      • Native bluebells have a narrower bell and the petals curve back deeply, most of the flowers droop to one side of the stem..They are more slender and dainty and the leaves are narrower.. Spanish bluebells have rounder bells.The spanish ones are more erect with flowers all round. The anthers of the spanish ones and hybrid ones are blue whilst the anthers of the native ones are creamy white.

    • Hi Janet,
      Sorry, I thought I had replied earlier. I am still trying to find names for my border;the long border is so simple I think it will stick.
      The curves were obtained with the use of a hosepipe and the upstairs window!

  5. Pingback: Bees’ B and B. | My Aberdeen Garden

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

