Weekly Photo Challenge: Contrasts

Following on from Lisa’s idea, on NorthWest Frame of Mind, of showing a black and white photo followed by its original colour version here is my entry.

Black and White

Black and White

I know I should have paintshopped out the extra bud at the bottom right and, in another life ,when I have time I will probably do that. Of course , if I was a real photographer, I would have noticed it when I was taking the photo and gently moved it out of the frame.

So here is the original colour photograph of the climbing rose, Golden Showers.

Colour

Colour

So, can flower photos ever work in black and white?  Did you like the top photo before you saw the second colour one or do any of you prefer the black and white version anyway?

Posted as part of the Weekly Photo Challenge:  Contrasts.

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Contrasts

  1. They both have a different quality. The black & white one feels very sculptural. And the colour one catches its golden yellow beautifully, although I think it might be better offset against greenery rather than a dark background.

    • Good point – I am guilty of not always considering the background when taking a close up photo. Getting better though. This one actually had a green rhododendron with red flowers in the background, but that bit was so underexposed, because of the bright yellow, that it looks black. So actually I think it worked out for the better in the end – certainly for the black and white version anyway. Thanks so much for commenting.

  2. I prefer the coloured version as you can see all the various tones of yellow, from very light to dark in the shadows. The white one looks 2 dimensional to me but the yellow one is definitely 3 dimensional.

  3. An interesting challenge. I love black and white photographs and sometimes use this approach for landscapes. Perhaps I will try with flowers, but I suspect you have to play around with the light levels to get the textures right. I hope you continue and I look forward to seeing more.

    • Thanks. I love black and white, but never think about taking photos like that. I think it is a lot harder, as you say the light would have to be just right. I wonder if I could find a course……

  4. Pingback: You (Alternate) | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

