Victorias at Last.

Some of you may have read the sad tale of my little plum tree which told the story of the demise of our first plum tree back in the summer of 2013.

Not to give up so easily, we planted a second plum tree, another Victoria plum, in October 2013. You have never seen such a cosseted plum tree! It was given plenty of water, but not too much. It was given farmyard manure, leaf compost and bonemeal. It was visited daily and talked to encouragingly. It was tied in gently to bamboo canes attached to the fence wires.

The leaves fell off, as expected, during the Winter and we carefully inspected every scar for signs of frothing. So far so good.

The winter was mild; we were hopeful the tree would make it, but it was a long long wait for signs of life.

Then in March we thought we could see the first signs of life; we weren’t sure at first, but yes the tree had started producing buds. We were so happy.

New bud growing on plum tree

New bud growing on plum tree

The tree progressed well and in April was covered in lovely white blossom.

Plum tree blossom

Plum tree blossom

plum tree flowers

The blossom faded and the leaves came out. The tree started growing fast and was soon too large for the frame that it had come with.

The traveller was called upon to help attach new long canes to train the plum tree to.

fan-trained plum

fan-trained plum

He was very proud of his handiwork.

Meanwhile tiny, tiny plums were beginning to develop. We wondered how many would stay on the tree.

Then came June and  a task I had put off as long as I could. I needed to prune the tree – yes I actually needed to cut my little plum tree. I really didn’t want to, especially as I had heard it could make the tree susceptible to silver leaf: a fungal disease which could enter via the cuts causing leaves develop a silver sheen and branches to die.  I used new secateurs and disinfected them too. I tried to cut as cleanly as I could and I just hoped for the best. I cut the main leader shoot down to the next branched stems and took the side shoots back one to two feet.

Plum tree before pruning

Plum tree before pruning

Plum tree after pruning

Plum tree after pruning

Meanwhile the plums started getting to a decent size though they were still quite green at the beginning of August.

Then almost overnight and after a few sunny days they started to ripen.

I counted 53 plums on my little plum tree!!

Ripening Victoria plums

Ripening Victoria plums

Then last Monday I PICKED MY FIRST PLUM!

my first plum

We were so proud!

Next Garden Update: Garden Update: August

 

 

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “Victorias at Last.

  1. What a wonderful success story – isn’t that what gardening is all about – trying, learning, and having another go… then being so proud of the little bit of nature that’s happily thriving in our plots!
    Emma 🙂

  2. I don’t think it would have dared not produce a plum after all that attention, Annette – but 53 plums?! That’s astonishing for your first year together! Well done you – and well done little plum tree!

  3. Who says you can’t grow plums in Scotland! Well done. I’ve planted a couple of damsons (also fan trained) and now I’m tempted to try a plum or a gage or a maybe a quince!
    Thank you for the inspiration.

  4. Pingback: Garden Bloggers Foliage Day: Space Invaders | My Aberdeen Garden

  5. Pingback: The sad tale of my little plum tree | My Aberdeen Garden

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

