End of Month View: September

Here is my End of Month View and I guess the End of Summer View too.  However, although the garden is somewhat subdued, there is still lots to look at.

The long border in September

The long border in September from an upstairs window.

Top of long border

Top of long border showing Gaillardia, Rudbeckia and Coreopsis still in flower.

Middle long border

Middle long border with a few bare patches waiting to be filled.

The garden is looking barer as annuals are pulled out and herbaceous perennials are cut back.  Beech leaves are swirling around and the berries are turning reds and oranges. I guess Autumn is really here.

This is particularly evident ’round the side’. I think Autumn suits this area of the garden.

Round the side in Autumn

Round the side in Autumn

Here the  lovely white heather is in full bloom. I am trying to establish a heather border to the right of the path, but others are taking a little longer to get going.

White heather

White bell  heather surrounded by beech leaves

White bell heather

It is that time of the year when I find any excuse to wander around the garden, trying to get some inspiration about what would look better elsewhere and what would look better just not there at all!

Sedum - I am happy with this but I will probably split it to encourage it to spread.

Sedum – I am happy with this but I will probably split it to encourage it to spread.

Things get planted in the wrong place for a variety of reasons. Sometimes I have just used an existing plant to fill a new space, sometimes it is the only space available for a new plant and sometimes it is just me putting something in the wrong spot either for the comfort of the plant or the comfort of our eyes!

So, inevitably, at this time of the year it is all change – many things will be in a different and hopefully better place next year. I like to do it now rather than Spring as the frosts and hard grounds can sometimes last too late into the year.

This was moved in the Spring and now looks better

Fuscia Snowcap. This was moved in the Spring and now looks better not so close to the pink Penstemon. The yellow plants will now be moving though!

I did promise myself that I would look back over my photos and do some better planning this year, but I have already started some impulse buying. . . .

This year's bulbs and bargains -

This year’s bulbs and bargains –

I just can’t help myself!

We are having some lovely sunny weather at the moment – perfect for sorting out the garden.

On Monday I counted no less than four butterflies. I had a lovely time with my macro lens trying to capture them.

In my garden the purple Erysimums are their favourite, closely followed by the Verbena – they only seem to like purple flowers and are totally ignoring the red Sedum flowers they are supposed to like.

There have been two star plants this month.

The first is in the rockery – the blue gentian Sino Ornata. This is a few years old and just gets better every year. It is lovely to have such vibrant colour when much else is fading. These plants do need a lime-free soil though and further South may need some shade.

Gentian Sino Ornata

Gentian Sino Ornata

The second was a group of four  Lobelia Cardinalis.  They were bought as quite mature plants to fill a gap, and so did not get eaten by the snails as a younger plant might have been. Their red colour has been dazzling for a good two months. I do hope these survive the winter and the new spring growth survives the slugs and snails.

Lobelia Cardinalis

Lobelia Cardinalis

Shame about the pink antirrhinum which was not the colour I bought!

Another of my favourites is the Acidanthera which was so late in flowering I though it wasn’t going to. It doesn’t do very well here as not many of the bulbs actually flower, but it is worth it for those that do. The spikey leaves are great in the borders too.

acidanthera with cotinus

Acidanthera contrasting well with Cotinus

acidanthera

Beautiful flower heads

Although there are plenty of flowers left, the leaves in the garden are now turning colour.  Some will only be this beautiful for a very short time.

Climbing hydrangea turns a beautiful pale yellow

Climbing hydrangea turns a beautiful pale yellow

A rather ancient cornus has a lovely display .before the leaves drop

A rather ancient cornus has a beautiful display before the leaves drop to reveal the lovely red stems.

The berries, too, are now ripe and the birds have started to eat them. I hope they leave some for the bad weather, though they probably know I won’t let them starve.

Orange pyracantha

Orange Pyracantha

Red pyracantha

A newer red Pyracantha has flowered for the first time this year

The hips on the rosa have turned from orange to red.

The hips on the rosa have turned from orange to red.

It looks like another dry day – time to get some of those bulbs planted. . . .

Thanks to Helen for hosting this End of Month View. If you would like to see more gardens at the end of this month please click through to The Patient Gardener blog.

Next Garden Update: Garden Update: Anyone for spaghetti

 

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “End of Month View: September

  1. What lovely autumn plants. Your garden always looks so well cared for.. I envy you being able to grow lovely gentians in the ground. They have to live in pots here. Do you find that Acidenthera flowers again in following years? I can only get them to flower once and then they just have lots of leaves.

    • Thanks Chloris. I have lots of time for my garden at the moment having retired last March. I will get going with other activities soon, but for the moment I am spending a lot of time in the garden and loving it.
      This is only the second time I have planted Acidanthera. Last year only about six out of fifty flowered. I lifted the corms and most of them made it through the winter hanging in the garage. However I supplemented them with new bulbs in the spring and now I don’t know which have flowered! I am hopeful that it is my bulbs that flowered as they were much larger than the new ones being a year older. Do all yours flower?

  2. Hi Annette, what a lovely post. Yes, Autumnal in nature, but still so much to admire.
    I love your gentian. I did wonder whether a gentian would work in my diving lady’s pool – what do you think? The lobelia has long gone and and the poor dear’s looking a little confused!

    • I think Gentian would look great there as you could use acidic soil. How hot does it get there though? My gentians are growing in full sun actually, but they are supposed to not like it! Sino Ornata is supposed to be a very easy to grow variety given the right conditions. It has certainly spread well in my rockery unlike others I have tried. You should give it a try.

    • Thanks Jessica. You should try the Acidanthera – you might get on better than I do as you are further south. They are so pretty that it is worth a go. Some gentians are easier to grow than others apparently, but yes they are not supposed to like too much hot sun.

  3. You’ve done well to have any Acidanthera at all. Mine have grown nice foliage but so sign of any flowers at all, so I am very envious. Your Gentians are soooooooo beautiful, we saw them growing wild in the mountains in spring and I don’t think there are many flowers more beautiful.

  4. Lots of bright patches still – and those rose hips!! Love the path down the side of the house too with that wall. The gentians are gorgeous – there were lots of them flowering in Edinburgh Botanical Gardens when we were there in October last year.

    • Thanks Cathy. The area round the side has always been the bit I never showed anyone and was always the bit I got to last in the weeding and tidying. Well it probably still it actually, but I am trying to make an effort with it as it does give some nice views at certain times of the year. The raised bed is still a real problem though as it has been taken over by roots and is so dry that I can’t get much to grow there. They must have come either from my fir tree at the front or from a leylandii hedge at the back. There is only a garage behind the wall so no problem there.

    • Hi Julianne,
      Thanks for visiting my blog. Where is your garden? Do you leave your bulbs in the ground overwinter? This is my second year for some of the bulbs, having lifted them when the frosts came. I will plant them again and hopefully next year they will be amazing.

  5. You do have quite a bit of color left, only the first tastes of autumn seem to be coming your way…. although the fuchsia and lobelia always seem summery to me, so maybe I’m just looking in from a different climate.
    I love the rose hips. It’s hard to find any that make nice fruits around here, there’s not much demand I suppose.
    Looks great! Frank

    • Thanks Frank. Yes I suppose they are more summery flowers, but these fuchsias always come our really late. I think I just planted the lobelia late which is why they are still flowering.

  6. Pingback: GBFD: The Foggy Foggy Dew | My Aberdeen Garden

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

