Daily Prompt: Local Colour

Imagine we lived in a world that’s all of a sudden devoid of color, but where you’re given the option to have just one object keep its original hue. Which object (and which color) would that be?

I don’t usually enter these as they are not too applicable to a gardening blog, but this one got me thinking.. . . . . . ..

I didn’t have to think very long to decide which flower I would like to keep its colour -I had to go for a beautiful Spring daffodil or narcissus.

Pot of Falconet narcissus

Pot of Falconet narcissus

Which flower would you choose?

See what other’s are choosing here:

Local Colour

18 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Local Colour

  1. I love them. We have them here during the easter period. You can buy them for a couple of cents in almost every supermarket if you want. And i always get some.
    To the color, I also couldnt imagine if lavender would have a different color. Hmm just made me thinking here:)

  2. I think all plants look great the way nature intended them to be. Dyed heathers and carnations dyed weird colours make me see red. And rose breeders are always trying to get a blue rose or trying to convince us that a mauve rose is blue. Personally I can’ t think of anything more offensive than a blue rose.
    You are right, daffodils should definitely be yellow. But I couldn’t t choose. I really need plants to be the colour they are supposed to be.

    • I agree that plants should be the colour they are meant to be too. There is a whole bed of mauve roses that I have to drive past quite a lot and I hate them. I am not used to hating plants of any sort, but I can’t help myself.
      I think the purpose of this daily post was to imagine that everything loses its colour completely apart from one thing that you can nominate to keep its colour. If that happened which one thing would you choose. Still quite an impossible decision, but I decided I couldn’t live without the yellow daffodils.

  3. Personally, I am not a fan of yellow daffs but can see why you chose them Annette. They are so evocative of spring and one of those plants I think everyone can recognise.
    I don’t think I could choose a particular plant but I think I’d have to keep all the fields patchwork green.

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

