Johnston Gardens – an Autumn walk

A few days ago I took the opportunity of a a lovely sunny morning to walk to some  beautiful gardens nearby.

These were actually in our neighbours garden on the way out.

These were actually in our neighbour’s garden on my way out.

Johnstone Gardens

Johnstone Gardens

Lovely feathery leaves

Lovely feathery leaves

Beautiful red leaves

and deep red ones

. . .look better with a few rain drops

which look even better with a few rain drops.

Looking across the water. .

Looking across the water. .

. . and a bit to the left

. . and a bit to the left

The colour under this tree was surreal

The colour under this tree was surreal

Looking closer.

Looking closer.

I wish I had some green paint

I wish I had some green paint

Soft moss covered rocks

Soft moss covered rocks

and little pathways

and little pathways

wind through the gardens

wind through the gardens.

Yet more beautiful colours - red. . .

Yet more beautiful colours – red. . .

. . . and orange

. . . and orange.

I loved these fir cones

I loved these fir cones

standing so upright.

standing so upright.

What has been eating this. . .

What has been eating this. . .

. . and this.

. . and this?

And for those of you that love hydrangeas.

And finally for those of you that love hydrangeas.

It had been a lovely walk.

23 thoughts on “Johnston Gardens – an Autumn walk

    • You really should visit these gardens. They are not very large, but there is a beautiful lake in the middle with ducks. At the moment there is a Mandarin duck who is not being very friendly to the locals. This best times to visit are now or for the rhododendrons and azaleas in the spring.

    • I hope it was a red squirrel too. We have a bigger park nearby that definitely has red squirrels, but we have a grey one in our garden. A few years ago they had a cull of the grey squirrels in order to protect our red community. I know that grey squirrels are not good for the red ones, but I had enjoyed seeing them in our garden, so was a bit sad about it.

  1. Pingback: A brilliant day | My Aberdeen Garden

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

