My copper beech: October to December

Like some fellow bloggers I think it is time to round up the tree following for this year.  I have been a bit remiss in keeping up with this excellent meme, but I will finish off with a few photos of my copper beech tree gradually losing its leaves until you can see its magnificent trunk and branches once again.

Copper beech still full of leaf on 10th October 2014

Copper beech still full of leaf on 10th October 2014

10 Oct 2014

10 Oct 2014

!st November - canopy getting thinner

!st November – canopy getting thinner.

24th Nov: only a few leaves and nuts hanging on

24th Nov: only a few leaves and nuts hanging on.

Most leaves are now on the ground!

Most leaves are now on the ground!

End of November

End of November

December 2014 - all leaves gone.

December 2014 – all leaves gone – but beautiful silhouettes against the sky.

December 2014

December 2014 – branches shining in the sun

December 2014: trunk catches the light.

December 2014: trunk catches the light.

So that is it for this year, but look the new buds are already formed ready to start all over again next year.

Buds are already formed ready for the cycle to begin again next year.

Buds are already formed ready for the cycle to begin again next year.

 

Many thanks to Lucy at LooseAndLeafy for hosting this meme that we have enjoyed so much. Here’s looking forward to next Spring.

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “My copper beech: October to December

    • It sits on the border at the bottom of the garden, but I do think of it as belonging to us alone! It is magnificent isn’t it, both when the leaves are out and when it is bare.

    • It certainly does Julie. My favourite time is the spring when the leaves are new. I have so many photos of the new leaves as they are so beautiful. It also looks wonderful in the winter though when the sun catches it.

  1. I have enjoyed your beautiful copper beech, Annette. That is the great thing about winter; the exquisite tracery of the bare branches, specially on a tree like yours. I love it against the stormy sky.

  2. It’s fascinating seeing the branches appear. Although it would be sad not to have leaves in summer, it seems that in revealing their shapes, trees also reveal their individuality.
    Do hope you will be choosing a new tree for 2015 – or even continuing with this one until March comes round again.
    Best wishes for the year ahead.
    Lucy

    • Thanks Lucy – I will certainly give some thought to choosing a new tree. I have enjoyed taking part in this tree watch – it really encouraged me to watch my copper beech much more closely. I had never noticed its flowers before. Amazing. Thank you so much for hosting.

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

