Wordless Wednesday: Fluorescent Frills

orange toadstool

22 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday: Fluorescent Frills

  1. Fantastic photograph, there is a whole world to discover when you start delving into Fungus and Lichens. We spent a morning with a mycologist in November, there is so much to learn!

    • I do hope so – I found it when I was down in the New Forest. I thought it could have been orange jelly fungus (Dacrymyces palmatus), but it wasn’t on a dead pine tree. So it could be Tremella aurantia or Tremella mesenterica but these are supposed to be more yellow. Help please!

  2. I can’t be 100% sure, but it looks like Tremella mesentrica – we also have this fungus in Australia. When I lived in London, I was told its common name is witches butter. Over here its called yellow brain fungus. I think I prefer the UK common name 🙂

    • Ah thank you. It is so difficult to identify fungus without taking everything into consideration – the habitat, the host, the time of year etc. That makes it almost impossible from a photo, but thanks for the probable ID.

    • Looks like you are right – Croft Garden agrees with your ID and it was also growing on Gorse. Now I must try to remember the name so I can impress my friends next time I see it.

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

