A Very Happy New Year To You All!

I have been preoccupied and mostly absent from the blogosphere these last few weeks. Yes, the reason has partly been Christmas, but mostly it has been a wonderful new addition to our family.  Baby Anita was born in Aberdeen just before Christmas to my son and his wife. What a wonderful Christmas present for everyone.! I know we are biased, but she is absolutely beautiful. She is our third grandchild. We have two, equally lovely, granddaughters living in Japan and count ourselves very very lucky.

Our new granddaughter, Anita, 6 days old

Our new granddaughter, Anita, 6 days old

It was a perfect end to a great year.

On 28th December 2013 I published my first post!  I had spent Christmas getting to grips with WordPress, choosing a template and taking photos.  The hardest thing was choosing a name for the blog. I wanted it to reflect where I gardened and couldn’t come up with anything very original. I settled for My Aberdeen Garden, simple and to the point.

I have really enjoyed all the interactions over the past year with fellow bloggers: gardeners and others.  I have learnt a lot, about gardening, about photography and about life in general – my geography has improved enormously too. I feel I have made real friends out there as I have learnt about your gardens and your lives.

Here is a selection of my best photos throughout the year. If you have time, just click on each gallery to see the photos at their best.

Winter

Late summer/Autumn

 

Summer

Spring

 

Thank you all for your support and friendship this past year and I wish you all a very Happy New Year and great gardening in 2015.

 

40 thoughts on “A Very Happy New Year To You All!

  1. Congratulations on your beautiful new arrival. She IS gorgeous! Well done for keeping up with your blog for a year too, your photo galleries are a lovely record of 2015. Warmest good wishes for 2015 Annette. Gillian

    • Thank you so much and all the best for 2015 to you. I have just checked out your baby photos – they are lovely. I must remember to use black and white for mine too – it is great for babies. I hope you do manage to get a yard some day too – I would be lost without my garden.

    • Hi Pauline. Thank you. I hope to get going again soon with my garden posts. I am really looking forward to 2015 in the garden and hoping these hard frosts we have had haven’t damaged too much. Happy New Year to your family also.

    • Thank you so much. I am really looking forward to the next year. I have enjoyed being your blogging buddy and reading about all your adventures. My favourite was Venice. I am dreaming of seeing those lovely sights for myself. Happy New Year to you and your family.

  2. Loved the slideshows Annette, some lovely pictures. It’s been lovely to get to know you too.
    How beautiful Anita is. Mum and Dad must be very proud. I have just found out I am to be a Grandma for the first time in 2015.
    All the very best to you and yours when it comes!

    • Thank you Angie. I have really enjoyed getting to know you and your garden also. And Congratulations to you too. What month is the baby due? It is the most magical time. Happy New Year!

          • Thank you very much – yes, I’m somewhat better thank goodness… this perpetual hacking cough has seriously impeded my ability to spend time in the garden, among other things! Consoling myself by enviously perusing other people’s gardening blogs (including yours), and ordering gardening books online. Loving all the ‘In a vase on Monday’ posts today!

  3. What a fabulous Christmas present!
    I’ve enjoyed your blog over the past year and been amazed at what you can grow successfully up there in Aberdeen, often plants that don’t thrive for me much farther south.
    Have a very Happy New Year Annette.

    • Yes it certainly was. Thank you for reading and your comments over the last year. I have also been very surprised that I could grow some things without difficulty that others have trouble with. It has made me appreciate my garden much more instead of feeling a bit sorry for myself that we had such short summers. I am really looking forward to next year and hoping there has not been too much frost damage. It has been quite severe this Christmas. Maybe it will have killed off some of those pesky aphids that gave me so much trouble last year.

  4. Hi, thanks for your support over the year. I have really enjoyed the photos and it inspired me to get out some of my old ones of our garden. Not up to your standard, but if I’m going to be stuck at home I think I might try a bit of photography! Congrats on the new arrival and hope 2015 goes well for you and the family xxx

    • Hi Sarah, lovely to hear from you. I am glad you are thinking about trying some photography again. I would be really interested to see your garden. Would you think about starting another blog? All the best to you and your family for 2015 – I really hope it gets better for you from now on.

  5. A triple whammy then – Christmas, first blogging anniversary and a new grandchild! What a great time of year it has been for you, Annette – I hope all went well with the birth and I guess you are chuffed that this grandchild is a little nearer to home. Well done on your first year of blogging too – you were out there in the blogging community right from the start, I recall, whereas I kept a low profile for many months although that’s all changed now! Great to have shared blogs and friendship, Annette, and I look forward to continuing to do so

    • Yes 2014 was a really good year for me and it can only get better next year. It will be lovely to cuddle this grandchild more often I have to admit, though I do get to see quite a lot of the two in Japan as they are very good at skyping us regularly. We are hoping they will come over in the summer too, so we have that to look forward to.
      Yes I did hit the blogging community running thanks to the support that Alistair (Aberdeen Gardening) gave me right at the beginning. You have done so well with your blog publishing every day. I am a little more random, but am really looking forward to getting going again. I really must thank you for all your support over the year – you have notched up a lot more comments that any of my other followers. I really appreciate it. All the best to you and your family in 2015!

      • Thanks Annette – at my 2nd blogging anniversary I deliberately stopped blogging every day to reduce the amount of time spent as it can become all-consuming. I enjoy not just the writing itself but the interaction with such friendly people and have learned such a lot through the experience.

  6. Many congratulations on both the new grand daughter and the year anniversary. I’ve really enjoyed our first year discovering blogging together (although my anniversary isn’t until the 9th January).
    Wishing you and your family all the very best for 2015.

    • Hi Angie, I am really honoured that you chose my blog for this award, but I’m afraid I chose not to do these right from the start. I did put something in my about page, but I realise I must get an image sorted for the home page so I don’t waste people’s time nominating me. Thanks so much though for considering my blog good enough. You have made my day.

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

