Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day: A rather sparse February

I have been dithering about whether to post anything this month. I have quite a few evergreen shrubs for winter interest, but not a lot of flowers. My excuse has always been that the weather is too awful in February  to be wandering round the garden so it didn’t really matter. However when it comes to sharing blooms, I am left rather lacking.

I do have a few things I would like to share with you though.

Firstly my self seeded (not from my garden) Hellebore, is in flower.  I haven’t yet developed the love that most people seem to have for these plants, but I was delighted to find that I had one growing in a difficult place in my garden AND IT WAS FREE!  This could be the plant that changes my feelings forever.

Hellebore

Helleborus argutifolius

Snowdrops, on the other hand, I have always loved, but not enough to fill my garden with expensive varieties. I have to confess that this year, though, I have been getting very excited about them for the first time.

Galanthus nivalis

Galanthus nivalis

It started when I began reading snowdrop posts with a lot more interest.

Then I started to look online and found I could get some other varieties that didn’t cost the earth.

But the event that convinced me I was getting the bug was when I discovered two, not one but two, different varieties already growing in my garden. There I was down on my knees looking at the petals and little green markings along with the rest of the already smitten population.

I remembered planting half a dozen bulbs in Autumn 2013, but couldn’t remember what they were. I never thought I would get so excited when I discovered they had different markings from the common Galanthus nivalis. It was like finding gold, and had me scurrying to hunt through my old bulb packets.  Yes it was different – it was an elwesii! My first different snowdrop – or so I thought.

Galanthus elwesii

Galanthus elwesii

Then, when I was taking photographs yesterday, I was looking closer at some snowdrops that have been in the garden as long as I can remember.  They are little doubles and nestle wonderfully near the trunk of a big beech tree.  I expect they are Galanthus nivalis ‘Flore Pleno’ as these seem to be quite common.

Galanthus nivalis 'Flore Pleno'

Galanthus nivalis ‘Flore Pleno’

There are two more pieces of evidence that point towards a more serious addiction problem.

Firstly, I have booked to go and visit a snowdrop garden about an hour’s drive north in a farm that is taking part in the Scottish Snowdrop festival.  Please pray for nice weather on Thursday so I can get some good photographs.

Secondly I have already added Galanthus ‘Wasp to my Christmas list for next year – even though it will arrive rather late!

Anyway enough about snowdrops. I do have a few other flowers out in my garden.

I can’t really claim to have grown these as they were only planted a few days ago, but they are already brightening up the garden.

Winter Aconite

Eranthis Cilicus (Winter Aconite)

I have only just realised that there are two common varieties of Winter Aconite: Eranthis hyemalis and Eranthis cilicus. The ones I bought in the garden centre are the latter and are supposed to have larger flowers and finer leaves. However, they don’t multiply as easily and like a sunnier spot. Just as well I planted them in the rockery, then, where they will get full sun!

I couldn’t resist buying these little Cyclamen, even though they don’t seem to survive in my garden. It is worth having them just for one year.

Cyclamen coum

Cyclamen coum planted among Heuchara ‘Palace purple’

The Vinca has a its first flowers,

Vinca Major

Vinca Major

and a few Anemone blanda are breaking though the ground.

Anemone Wanda

Anemone Blanda

Crocuses are beginning to emerge and it will soon be time to try matching up the actual with the labels to see what is what.

Crocuses

Crocuses

Now is the time that the Spring flowering Scottish Heathers really come into their own.

White Erica

White Erica

DSC_1427

Pink? Erica

My garden still feels quite dormant, but there is evidence of a lot more spring flowers about to come out so maybe next bloom day I will have more to show you.

Thanks to Carol at May Dreams Garden for hosting GBBD each month, do pay her a visit to see what is blooming this month.

 

17 thoughts on “Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day: A rather sparse February

  1. Ha! I thought you would get the snowdrop bug. It starts off by just adding one or two different ones and then you are drawn in. Actually there are very nice ones that don’ t cost the earth. I agree Wasp is lovely.
    That is a beautiful shot of Cyclamen coum.

  2. I will look forward to seeing what you buy at the Snowdrop garden, hope you are able to take lots of photographs. My Anenome Blanda aren’t showing yet, I still have that joy to come. You have some lovely flowers out now, each day will bring more flowers and before we know it, it will be spring!

    • That is strange that my Anemones are early. Cathy also commented on it. They were even earlier last year. They have been in a long time and must have got used to the climate up here. I hope I can buy Snowdrops at the garden, though I am not sure as it is just a private garden.

  3. The bug can be very infectious….. 🙂 Hope you have a lovely day on Thursday and I look forward to reading about it – I seem to have missed reading some of your recent posts so I must make sure I don’t miss that one. I am intrigued to see your A blanda emerging – is that their usual timing for you?

  4. You’ve got lots blooming Annette, I commented on Frances’s blog re her white heather and yours is very pretty too. No signs of Anemones here yet. Lucky you that it’s nice and early up there.
    I bought almost all my special snowdrops at a private gardens last year and know of others that have too. I know I got them a bit cheaper than I would have got them online. You might get a bargain. Looking forward to that post. Have a good time 🙂

  5. I hope you have a great visit, and you made me laugh with your snowdrop confessions!
    If it make you feel any better about your blooms, we still have several weeks to go before the signs of spring start appearing. There’s only one day in the next ten when temperatures are forecast to rise above freezing 🙂

    • Oh gosh, you have a little wait then. Sorry to make you jealous but we had a lovely sunny day yesterday for our snowdrop visit and then when I got back I saw some purple crocuses had just come out – not open yet but you could see their colour. I hadn’t noticed them before, but once things start moving they really do start. My iris reticulata are looking poised for action too, I think another few days with some sun might open them up too.

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

