Photographing ‘My garden coming to life this spring’

VOTING NOW CLOSED – but you can still comment if you would like to.

I would like your help – please!

A local garden centre is running a photo competition with the following remit:

“Take a photo of your garden coming to life this spring and send it to us by 30th April.

I haven’t entered many photography competitions, but the prize of a£25.00 garden centre voucher is too tempting.  The subject should also be ‘right up my street’, or ‘right up my garden path’ to be precise.

I suspect the judges will be looking for a photo that interprets the theme rather than just a pretty spring photo. It is being judged by a local photographer so the quality of the photo will also have to be good. Finally I am aiming for something original with a certain ‘wow’ factor. Not much to ask is it?

Anyway here are some possible entries followed by a voting form. Which is your favourite?

Crocus 'Whitewell purple'

No 1: Crocus ‘Whitewell purple’ lapping up the sun.

White Primula Denticula

No 2: White Primula Denticulata on a dewy morning

Tulip Clusiana

No 3: Tulip Persian Pearl just about to open

Anemone Blanda

No 4: Anemone Blanda on a sunny morning.

No 5: New shoots

No 5: New herbaceous shoots (lupin and a blue flower whose name escapes me!)

Clematis armandii

No 6; Clematis armandii

You can view these better as a gallery, if you wish, by clicking on any thumbnail below

VOTING NOW CLOSED

Thank you for voting and for any comments to help me decide on which photo to submit. I will let you know which photo I choose and how I get on.  In the fortuitous event that I win, I will share the prize with one lucky person. Please leave your email address on the survey if you wish to be included in the draw.

Wish me luck!

17 thoughts on “Photographing ‘My garden coming to life this spring’

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

