Garden update for April.

When we returned from Japan at the beginning of the month I expected to see big changes, so it was quite a surprise to see things much the same.  The Daffodils and Forsythia were out, but hadn’t finished so I was still able to enjoy them.  I suppose the herbaceous plants had grown a bit, but not much and the weeds hadn’t really started growing either, so it was a really good time to have been away.

Even by 15th of April things hadn't really got going.

Even by 15th of April things hadn’t really got going.

There are still some plants showing no signs of life; I can’t even remember what some of them are so it will be a nice surprise if they are actually alive.

Is this plant alive or dead?

Is this plant alive or dead?

The Pulmonaria round the side were flowering by the 5th April and the lovely feathery Monkshood foliage was well up.

Pulmonaria and Monkshood foliage

Pulmonaria and Monkshood foliage

pulmonaria

Looking good in the evening sun (or was it morning?)

The Primula denticulata, always perform so well, and multiply so easily that I am now getting enough to make a real splash of colour.

Mauve Primula denticulata

Mauve Primula denticulata

Group of Primula denitulata

Group of Primula denitulata in front of Photinia ‘Red Robin’

I bought some white ones last year as a contrast. I love the way they open.

White primula denticulata opening.

White primula denticulata opening.

In the back garden the Anemone blanda multiply every year and look wonderful when the sun is out.

Anemone blanda

Anemone blanda

anemone blanda 2

Anemone blanda

I wasn’t sure about these next bulbs as they were rather too pale for my liking, however as I was looking up their name, I found a recommendation that they could be grown with Fritillaria meleagris. I think that is an excellent idea as they would both look better with some contrast. I do wonder if they are tall enough though; has anyone tried that combination?

Puschkinia scilloides var. libanotica

Puschkinia scilloides var. libanotica

Fritillaria Meleagris

Fritillaria meleagris

Along the fence, the Clematis armandii did flower this year (its second) – only one bunch rather high up, but they were certainly beautiful.

Clematis armandii

Clematis armandii

Clematis armandii

Clematis armandii

Other things are clearly not going to flower this year though. Both the plum tree and the lilac tree are decidedly lacking in any flowers although both have plenty of new leaves. I think they rather overstretched themselves last year.

In the middle of the herbaceous border, the chamomile path is looking a bit bare. It was starting to grow so I gave the older shoots a short back and sides and a good rake. I may have overdone it!

Chamomile path looking a bit bare

Chamomile path looking a bit bare

The leaves of Iris ‘Gerald Darby’ look wonderful in the spring. I wonder if it will flower for the first time this year. If not, I think I will move it somewhere more damp.

Iris

Iris ‘Gerald Darby’

I am quite happy with this little corner.

Contrasting foliage

Contrasting foliage;

I first tried a purple Erysimum (Bowles Mauve – yes I did eventually find one) near the Phormium, but then I was surprised to find an orange one (Apricot Twist) picked up the colour so much better.

The orange Erysimum goes well with the Phormium leaves

The orange Erysimum goes well with the Phormium leaves

At the back the new leaves of the Berberis look wonderful.

Berberis

Berberis thunbergii ‘Golden Rocket’

In the shady, dry front garden the Euphorbia are earning their keep.

Euphorbia and Hypericum

Euphorbia and Hypericum

Euphorbia

Euphorbia

And the white flowers of the Osmanthus are lovely.

Osmanthus

Osmanthus delavayi

In the back garden,the Chaenomeles is at its best just now.

Chaenomeles

Chaenomeles – ‘Crimson and Gold?’

More flowers are coming out every day now, and the garden is filled with tulips and other spring flowers.

The rockery is looking very colourful with various Primulas, native Primroses,Violets and Saxifrage.

The rockery

The rockery

Wild Violets

Self seeded Violets

Up near the house the Spirea’s golden leaves are looking great.

Spirea with tulips

Spirea japonica with tulips

And finally a pot of Narcissus at the request of fellow blogger, Hilary from JapanCan(ada) Mix.

Narcissus

Narcissus ‘Jetfire’

 

 

 

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “Garden update for April.

    • I don’t think you have missed much actually as I went away too and have been very busy lately with my 4 month old granddaughter living with us for a while. It is lovely, but takes a week to write a simple post! Isn’t WordPress a nuisance unfollowing people. Still it gives you a good excuse if you really want to unfollow someone! (Not that I would do that, ah hem!)

  1. I was just about to ask the same question as Jessica, they are stunning leaves. I do hope the bloom for you.
    i’m impressed with the Clematis – I gave up after the third attempt.
    Your garden is looking amazing right now and so kind of it to slow down while you were away don’t you think?

    • Thanks Angie. I will take more notice of the leaves this year – or look back over old photos to try to see. The Clematis is in a very sunny spot so maybe that is it. I wish I could get it to flower lower down though, but I read that it doesn’t really repond to hard pruning unlike some. Maybe I will have to add a fence extension for it!

    • You are the second person to say that; I guess I got lucky. I haven’t been able to detect a scent yet, though I haven’t managed to get the step ladder out in the evening to try!

  2. It’s nice you didn’t miss much, this time of year seems to go by so fast a single day brings so many new things to look at! So many excellent photos in this post, if the grandchild is taking away from your time it doesn’t show here!

  3. Pingback: End of Month View: June | My Aberdeen Garden

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

