Photo Competition – Did I win?

Guess what  – I did!!!

Anemone Blanda

The winning photo

I got a phone call on Wednesday to say I had been chosen as the winner of the Mains of Drum photo competition.: “My garden coming to life this Spring” It made my day. It was the first time I have ever entered a photograph for a competition.

Yesterday I went along to the garden centre to pick up my vouchers. I was very surprised to find the local press there plus the photographer who had judged the competition.  I did feel important!

The best thing, though, was that they had printed and framed the photograph and it was going to be put up in the garden centre for a while.  I think I will be dragging all my friends along for a coffee and just happen to walk past . . . .

Thanks to Beverley of Mains of Drum Garden Centre for running this competition and making me very welcome yesterday, allowing me to see the other entries. It was very interesting to see what subjects people had chosen. There were daffodils,  tulips, blossom and a lovely shot of crocuses done by an 11 year old boy that gave me a run for my money.

The photos were judged by  Logan Sangster of Deeside Photographics. Thanks Logan!

Thanks, especially, to all of you for helping me choose which photo to enter in the competition. The lucky person whose name was drawn out of my hat was Cathy from Rambling in the Garden.  Your prize will be in the post as soon as I get your address.

Now, what were the rules for that National Trust competition. . . . .

 

34 thoughts on “Photo Competition – Did I win?

    • Thanks Joanna – I have a list of so many things I want to buy from lawn mowers to garden furniture, to more bedding plants to a cherry tree. . . . and it was only £25.00!

  1. It is great to have recognition of your photography skills from a professional. I am of course doubly thrilled that you won with your lovely photo, Annette – thanks again for giving your blogging friends the chance to share your prize 🙂

    • You are welcome Cathy – it was really fun getting other people’s opinions. I learnt a lot about what is important to people in a photograph. And yes, the professional photographer said some lovely things about my photo – it is very encouraging.

    • Thanks Lynda (and Dave). Yes, that is a good idea. I did look into it last year but then got busy and never got round to it. I am quite limited what I like to take photos of though – either flowers or children!

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

