Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day: Mid July

I dashed out between showers today to grab a few shots with my macro lens for today’s Bloom Day.

The garden is still full of wild foxgloves, most of them purple. I am keeping my eye on the ripening seeds as the flower heads are now getting near the top of the stalks. The bees and hover flies are still loving them though.

Wild purple Foxglove

Wild purple Foxglove

The hover flies and bees love these wild flowers

The hover flies and bees love these wild flowers

The Alliums, which I grew for the first time this year, are still looking amazing, especially covered in raindrops which shine in the sun.

Allium 'Christophii'

Allium ‘Christophii’

And a few new flowers have opened since the end of June:

The Ladybird poppies which I grew from seed are now flowering and looking stunning, if a bit bedraggled.

Rather bedraggled Ladybird poppies

Rather bedraggled Ladybird poppies

Blue campanula

Blue campanula

I have mollycoddled this little geranium for the last two years. It has suffered very badly with mildew and I thought I had lost it several times. However this year it has rewarded me with beautiful blue flowers. I hope it will grow a bit now.

Dark leaved geranium 'Midnight'

Geranium pratense ‘Hocus Pocus’

 

You can’t beat a rose covered in raindrops. . .

Rose

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day: Mid July

  1. Your flowers are beautiful, more so when covered in raindrops! I like your new geranium, I’ve not heard of that one before. I hope you get some sun soon, I keep looking at the forecast for your part of the country and you seem to be getting more than your fair share of rain, I hope it stops soon for you.

    • Thanks Pauline. We really haven’t had a summer at all this year. I keep having to put the heating back on! Still, I haven’t had to water the garden very much.

    • Thanks for the sympathy. The garden is looking pretty good for it actually, though I should tie up the tall campanulas. I keep thinking if we get all the rain now then maybe it will be good in August when the Japanese family are visiting.

  2. Your beautiful Alliums rather prove the point that they like quite a lot of water. Mine rarely look so good. Sorry about your lack of summer, but I have to admit that some rain here would be very welcome.

    • Yes, a happy medium would be better for both of us. The Alliums are on rather a dryish slope so just as well that it rained a lot this year. I must remember in future to water them a lot.

  3. I think this summer will be remembered as non existent Annette. I’m hoping for decent weather in August too. Maybe if we wish hard enough.
    Blooms are lovely and you captured the mood perfectly!

  4. Pingback: In a Vase on a Monday: Sputnik spectacular | My Aberdeen Garden

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

