In a Vase on a Monday: Sputnik spectacular

I couldn’t bear to assign my lovely Allium seed heads to the compost – not just yet. . .

It made rather a strange looking vase, but it is now sitting in my fireplace in all its glory.

Allium 'Christophii' vase

Allium ‘Christophii’ vase

 

I also used some Japanese Anemones, some purple Erysimum, white and purple Oregano all offest by the wonderful Persicaria ‘Red Dragon’ and various other silver and red foliage.

Allium Vase standing in fireplace

The vase looks best from above , but here is the whole thing.

I wish I could have found a really black backround to show it off to its best, but the TV screen wasn’t quite big enough!

Allium vase

Allium vase

 

Thanks so much to Cathy of Rambling in the garden who introduced me to the wonderful Persicaria ‘Red Dragon’ a couple of years ago and who also uses it in her vase this week.

20 thoughts on “In a Vase on a Monday: Sputnik spectacular

  1. Oh Annette, the colours in this are stunning – the oregano was an inspired addition to the anemones and persicaria and allium heads, and the dark velvet (if that’s what it is) fabric really sets it off. It looks wonderful in the fireplace – thanks so much for sharing today.

    • They were. It was the first time I had grown them and I am hoping I get a repeat performance next year. The Japanese Anemone are lovely at this time of the year. They are growing in what was supposed to be a yellow area, but I just couldn’t get rid of them so now I just enjoy them instead.

  2. You don’t need to consign the Alliums to the compost heap, just let them dry naturally and you can keep using them in arrangements or spay them gold or whatever colour you want and use as Christmas decorations. Love your contribution today.

    • Thanks Christina. They were beginning to fall over, though, so I thought I had better pick them. I hadn’t thought of drying them though. I bet they would make a wonderful decoration if I can find somewhere to keep them until then. I might try hanging them in the garage.What a wonderful idea, thanks.

  3. What a great combination and I love the velvet wrap! Dried alliums are one of my favourite things – if you can hang them somewhere dry they will last indefinitely – very useful for a winter vase when nothing is flowering!

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

