Taking stock; August and September 2015

The garden has been somewhat neglected of late – again!  I do have a good excuse though. I have had all three of my grandchildren (plus parents and aunty) staying with us for a fortnight. As they range in age from 4 yrs to 8 months it was exhausting, but wonderful.

I have been out in the garden taking stock of my successes and failures. It has not been a good summer weather wise, but on the plus side I have only had to water a handful of times. The garden has enjoyed the water, but some plants are quite late coming into flower as they have hardly seen the sun.  Meanwhile Aberdeen has sold out of Vitamin D supplements!

My little plum tree (getting bigger all the time!)

Plum tree after pruning

Plum tree after pruning – summer 2014

Plum tree one year on

Plum tree one year on – lots of growth

Plum leaves not looking so good.

Plum leaves not looking so good.

The plum tree has not been so good this year. I forgave it for not bearing a single plum after its mammoth crop in its first year, but now its leaves are all silvery. There is a fungal disease of the wood that can cause this called, unremarkably, silver leaf. This is often caused by pruning in the winter when the spores are active. I was especially careful pruning last year, even buying new secateurs for the job, so there is a glimmer of hope that it could have false silver leaf . This can be caused by cold or other forms of stress. Let’s face it this summer has certainly been bad enough to stress a young tree and I think I am looking more silver on top too. The way to recognise this disease is by looking for an irregular stain in the wood. I couldn’t see anything untoward when I pruned it, but I didn’t cut any of the larger branches. I guess we will have to wait until next year to see what happens.

The Borders

I guess everything else just got bigger than a year ago and looks good for it. I am pretty happy with all the rearranging I did last Autumn, but that won’t stop me moving things around a bit more next month.  Well, that is what us gardeners do isn’t it?

Late summer border showing

Late August border showing Helenium Moorheim Beauty, Red unknown Potentilla,  Yellow Erysimum and Coreopsis Moonbeam, Persicaria Red Dragon and annual Lobelia at front.

Some plants have done really well this summer:

White astilbe

White Astilbe japonica ‘Deutchland’  brightened up the darker lower border during August.

Red Potentilla

Red Potentilla – close to the rockery steps

I love this new plant I bought is a plant sale last Spring. I didn’t know what it was going to do, but I think it will soon become a favourite.

Francoa sonchifolia

Francoa sonchifolia – August

Francoa sonchifolia

Francoa sonchifolia

Now September is here I am really pleased with how the garden is looking.

The borders are still going strong.

Top Border

Top Border in September – similar to August, but the dwarf Rudbeckia ‘Little Goldstar’ is now out.

Here are some more views of my garden this month.

Please click on any image to view the gallery.

20 thoughts on “Taking stock; August and September 2015

  1. Beautiful. But I wonder if you can tell me how it is that you can grow a plum tree and I assume get it to grow plums, while we can grow two but can’t get either of them to blossom. Too close to the sea, do you think?

    • Ellen it’s possible that either your blossom was frosted at an early stage (but that’s unlikely if you are in a windy spot near the sea) or perhaps your trees are just too young. Give them a good feed this autumn – some nice well rotted manure and garden compost and give them some time to build up to flowering and fruiting. That should do it!

    • Well I only had plums once – nothing this year. I do feed it with manure from garden centre and any other compost I have myself as well as keeping it watered. To answer your question you should see whether any of your neighbours can get plums. That way you will know whether you can blame the sea or not! How old are your trees and what variety?

  2. Your garden is looking beautiful despite you being so busy this summer Annette. Plants are amazingly resilient aren’t they? I particularly like your Cotinus with Scabious combination.

  3. That border hasn’t half come on in a year Annette. It was impressive last year and is beyond impressive this year.
    I hope you’ve diagnosed the problem with the plum tree – it has been a rotten year hasn’t it? I’m exhausted with one baby – you must be absolutely shattered coping with all your visitors.

    • Thanks so much Angie. It seems to be at its best later in the year as the yellows are wonderfully bright. I guess I will just have to wait and see with the plum tree – fingers crossed. I was shattered, but we had a quick holiday after everyone left so now I am good again thanks.

  4. The garden is looking wonderful Annette despite the ‘neglect’! The Francoa is a favourite of mine, the flowers, I think have an wild orchid look about them. It does grow very easily from seed.

    • Thanks Brian. Yes, I think you mentioned the Francoa being wonderful when I bought it, but I didn’t realise how wonderful, or that it would do well where I planted it. I have it in two different places and both flowered well. I wonder why it isn’t better known – or have I just had my head in the sand?

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

