My 200th Post – A Special Garden.

I have been saving the photos of this garden for a special occasion and I think this is it!

This post is to thank all my followers  ( over 200 of you!) and especially for Alistair and Myra. Alistair’s blog about his Aberdeen garden was the inspiration for mine – parts of this garden reminded me of theirs, albeit on a slightly larger scale and with just a little more water!

(Please click on any of the galleries to view the photos at their best or hover for more information.)

A wonderful place to site

A wonderful place to sit

We visited Flor & Fjære back in September and I was like a kid in a sweetshop. Every way I turned there was a fantastic view to photograph.

The garden was created  on an island just offshore Stavanger.

Looking out to sea.

Looking out to sea.

It all started in 1965, when Åsmund and Else Marie Bryn bought a farmstead on the island and built themselves a small cottage.

At the time Åsmund was working on the mainland, but he was forced to retire due to ill health. The family moved to the island for the peace and quiet and as Åsmund’s health improved he started planting trees and designing a small garden.

The garden grew and grew and in  1995, Olav (Åsmund’s son) and his wife, Siri, opened the garden and restaurant to its first paying guests.

The garden has been cleverly designed, using trees both for design and protection; this allows tropical trees and plants to flourish – a fact that Olav is very proud  of.

It has all the features you look for in a garden:

natural rocks and man-made terraces,

still and running water,

trees of all shapes and sizes,

grass,

(The grass is kept beautifully tidy using little robotic lawn cutters. There are very amusing creatures and can often be seen lurking in the undergrowth, recharging their batteries. How many can you spot in my photos?  They are actually very good for lawns because of the continual cutting, which develops a very thick mat of grass leaving no room for weeds.)

winding pathways and wonderful vistas,

and many, many plants.

Over 5o,ooo flowers are planted annually; each year to a different design. Olav Bryn spends the winter season thinking up  and creating new combinations; the result is a real explosion of colour. All the staff, including the restaurant staff, are drafted in to help with the planting.

The colour combinations are such an inspiration.

I hope you enjoyed this tour of one of my favourite gardens.

42 thoughts on “My 200th Post – A Special Garden.

  1. Congratulations Annette, you write a lovely blog, here’s to many more posts. I scrolled up and down on this one looking for where it was and was amazed when the penny dropped that its in Aberdeen. Its an amazing garden, no wonder its one of your favourites. Lovely post!

    • Oops sorry – I should have made it more prominent. It is on an island off Stavanger. We visited it as part of a short cruise round the fjords. I have only visited it once, but it is already one of my favourites. I hope to go back. Thanks for your kind words.

  2. We were touring the Fiords in 1966 on our honeymoon, so it must have just been started when we were there. The garden is an amazing show of colour, I suppose a lot has to come inside for the winter? I liked all the water with beautiful reflections and the rock formations. It is our golden Wedding next year, will we be going back I wonder?

    • Oh you really should go back Pauline. A lot of the plants are bedding plants so are planted every year, but yes a lot of things must be taken inside or well wrapped up. I should have listened more to the talk, but I couldn’t stop taking photos!

  3. When I’m browsing through the Reader, some posts trigger an instant ‘oooh!’ in my head as soon as I see the picture and I can’t wait to read more. This was one of those and it didn’t disappoint. A great 200th post.

  4. Wow. As soon as I saw this I thought you’d been off to somewhere tropical. But Stavanger? That really is quite an amazing garden.
    Many congratulations on your 200th post and here’s to many more.

  5. Congratulations on your 200th post! That is quite an accomplishment. This garden is so beautiful and perfect to celebrate your blogiversary! I loved looking at your photos. Such a stunning place! It reminds me just a little bit of Butchart Gardens in Victoria, BC, Canada, one of my favorite places. Thank you so much for sharing your gorgeous photos. I am very glad to find out about it.

  6. Oh my gosh!!!!!!!!! What a beautiful garden!!!!!!! I am looking up Stavanger! Congratulations on your 200th post! Love them all, but this was really special! My favorite tree was the the Japanese pillow tree! Great great great photos as well Annette!

  7. Well done on your 200th post, Annette – little did you know where it was going to take you when you started… This is am amazing garden – sometimes a little ‘too’ bright for me, but lots of interesting ideas and such an achievement considering the location and the scale. Thanks for sharing

    • Thanks Cathy. I don’t usually go for very bright bedding arrangements myself, but in this case the scale was so big and the overall design so amazing that you couldn’t help but love it all.

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

