GBBD: February in Aberdeen

Woke up to a lovely bright day with a smattering of snow on the ground.

Flowers are still few and far between here, but I managed to take a few photos.

Bowl of Iris Reticulata 'Clairette'

Bowl of Iris reticulata ‘Clairette’

This little bowl has been on the back door step where it gets the warmth of the house and also catches the sun.  These irises have been flowering for a few weeks now – they are lasting well in the cold weather.

Clairette

Clairette

Clairette

Clairette

Next off the post was a new variety for me, Pauline. So far I only have two blooms and one gat rather flattened by the hailstones yesterday.

Pauline shows up well against the snow.

Pauline shows up well against the snow.

I love the dark mauve colour of these irises.

My first Iris reticulata ‘Harmony’ came into flower a few days ago. I have a lot of these which have naturalised in the rockery, but not many blooms yet.

Iris retiuclata 'Harmony'

Iris retiuclata ‘Harmony’

There were a few other blooms in the garden:

The winter Jasmine is still going strong against a south facing house wall.

Winter Jasmine

Winter Jasmine

Erica

Erica

The pink heather is just a bit ahead of the white.

Galanthus 'Wasp'

Galanthus ‘Wasp’

I bought this snowdrop last year from Bruckshill  Croft near Inverurie. I was so pleased to see it flowering.

Anemone Blanda

Anemone Blanda

These Anemone blanda in the main border always start early, but it will be a while yet before they flower properly.

 Well that is all I could rustle up this month. I hope by next month I will have a few more spring bulbs flowering and maybe the primroses too.
With thanks to Carol at May Dreams Gardens for hosting this meme.
27 thoughts on “GBBD: February in Aberdeen

  1. What lovely photos. It’ s cold here too, but thank goodness, no snow. Still, the snow looks very pretty on your photos. Clairette is a beauty isn’ t it? I bought Wasp this year too, it is such a distinctive snowdrop.

    • Thanks Gillian. I hope it starts growing properly soon, though. It is always rather an anxious time of the year – difficult to imagine all that growth that will happen shortly.

  2. Clairette is gorgeous Annette and you’ve captured her beautifully in your snow reflected light, I really like the new theme of your blog too, it really compliments your photographs.

    • Thanks Julie. Yes I am much happier with this format for my blog. I lost the side bar, but there is room at the bottom to put things instead. I also lost one menu, but I find most people don’t really click around too much anyway.

    • The good thing about irises in pots is that you can keep them somewhere a bit warmer like a garage, at least until they start to pop up. You can even bring them indoors to photograph them or bring them on a bit. Next year I am going to plant some in individual pots so I can get better photos of single flowers. Well that is if I remember!

  3. I think we all agree your photos are great Annette. The Iris seem to be doing well with the changeable weather this year in your garden and mine. I must take a note of Clairette – she’s such a lovely colour. I can’t believe you have anemone blanda up already. It must be your Aberdeen climate.

    • Thanks Angie. Those anemones always puzzle me too. I think it is the ones that are protected by other plants that flower so early. Most of them are not even through yet. However, as you say, we are in a little micro climate here – NOT!! It is particularly freezing today, but the nice man from British Gas has just turned up to fix our broken boiler pump, so we are a bit happier than we were this morning.

    • It is just the particularly cold weather this year, Christina. The few that have flowered in the rockery have not fared so well and have been rather flattened by hailstones. I would still plant them too, even for 10 days.

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

