End of Month View: March

The garden is slowly coming to life – more slowly than I would like, but the second round of spring bulbs are now flowering. The snowdrops and iris reticulata are finished making way for the crocuses and daffodils. The tulips are nearly there, but not quite in time for this month’s view.

Here is the usual view from February

Romantic border end of February

Romantic border end of February

And here is this month’s view.

The Romantic border in March

The Romantic border in March

It definitely looks more green.  The two groups of muscari are well up, front and left and about to flower. Interestingly one group of bulbs are just a bit behind the other – I am trying to remember if I moved them last year.

Muscari almost flowering

Muscari almost flowering

There are several groups of tulips in bud and the Geranium phaeum at the back is doing well. Other perennials, though, have yet to get above ground level.

Again the view to the left has not changed significantly from last month.

Looking left

Looking left

The poppies are bulking up and will soon need staking. The plum tree is still alive and covered in buds – but are any of them flower buds?  I am waiting in anticipation. A friend of mine told me the other day that plum trees don’t like being pruned too much. Oh dear – perhaps I chose the wrong fruit tree for my fence.

The most exciting thing here is the first of my new Foxtail lilly bulbs is through, though not exactly where I expected it to be – I usually put the sticks behind where I plant the bulbs. I hope it isn’t the only one of three that grows. Is there anyone else out there that just can’t resist scratching beneath the surface to see if anything is happening?

The first Foxtail lilly bulb makes an appearance

The first Foxtail lilly bulb makes an appearance

I wish I had pulled up that weed before I took the photo!

Another new plant that is just through is the Tragopogon protenis which I planted last year to grow up the evergreen Escallonia . I can’t wait to see the lovely splashes of red flowers later in the year.

Looking to the right you can see a lovely clump of white crocuses, but not much colour yet.

Looking right

Looking right

There are a lot of new shoots showing here, but the most spectacular are the lovely red shoots of a plant which I think is a Tradescantia. I don’t know the variety, but it has wonderful blue flowers.  I know the leaves get rather messy later on, but I would grow it just for this spring display.

Lovely new red shoots

Lovely new red shoots

It is that time of the year when the lilac tree is in full bud. Will there be flowers this year? Last year was very disappointing, but I forgave it after a spectacular display the year before. I fear I wouldn’t be so forgiving a second year running – in fact it would be time for a good talking to.

Lilac buds

Lilac buds

If I look hard enough I am sure some of the buds have a purplish tint at the top.

Up near the house the ground under the ornamental cherry tree is carpeted in heather. It used to be all white until the fallout from the birdseed holders killed it off. I rather like the two colours now and there is even room for a few spring bulbs.

The little cherry tree

The little cherry tree

Erica

Erica

Mixed crocus

Mixed crocus looking pretty in the sun

In the rockery the Primula wanda is near its best,

Primula wanda

Primula wanda

While the denticulata are not far behind

Elsewhere in the garden there is lots of promise.

21 thoughts on “End of Month View: March

  1. Looks so promising for the new season and so much color already. Funny that with our short winter here in the US we are nearly neck in neck with you. If things warm up a bit I’ll have muscari soon as well!

    • We have had some nice weather Christina, but quite a bit of rain recently and frost yesterday morning. The sun is out again today, but the weekend forecast looks awful. You have to grab the good days when they arrive.

  2. I’m always very tempted to scratch around and prod a bit to see what’s coming up. With the variable seasons we seem to have now the order of things seems to have changed and it can be very frustrating! Lovely to see the Spring colour emerging in your garden.

    • Glad I am not alone! I think next month should really look like spring here as the tulips will be up, the clematis montana out and the perennials really growing. I shouldn’t wish my life away but I can’t wait.

  3. Beautiful photographs! I’m looking forward to seeing your walls covered in blossoms. Also–I have high hopes for my lilacs, as well. Is it the purplish-tinged ones that become blooms, then? This will be their second year and I’ve got my fingers crossed for some blooms.

    • As it is a purple lilac I was hoping I could see the blooms beginning to show at the top of some of the buds, but it could have been just wishful thinking. What colour are your lilacs?

  4. You chose a perfect day for those shots Annette. All looking very sunny and wonderfully spring like up there. I’m always poking around and do exactly as you do with canes too. I have never been brave enough to try foxtail lily. I await with bated breath to see how it does.

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

