Looking Good in the Garden

It has been a lovely warm weekend, just as well because I had a lot of catching up to do.

Bedding plants have been in and out of the garage for the last week so I reckoned I could risk putting them out now. There is still staking to do and of course lots and lots of weeding.

I am a bit behind as we have just had a wonderful week on Skye and Harris, a weekend in Edinburgh with my daughter and then a visit from a lovely young couple, a work colleague of Mike’s and his fiance.

But today was certainly the day to get things done and while I was at it I took some photos of things that were looking good for Gillian.

I was very excited this morning to see the first poppy had opened – and it wasn’t even the bud that I thought was going to be first!

The first poppy

The first Oriental poppy ‘Brilliant’

The poppy still hanging onto its sepals

The poppy still hanging onto its sepals

 

Tulip J.Ruess and yellow Wallflowers

Tulip Jan Reus and yellow Wallflowers

These tulips are almost identical to Queen of the Night. Can anyone tell me the difference? They are tall, very majestic tulips and look so good near the yellow annual wallflowers.

Geum 'Dingle Apricot'

Geum ‘Dingle Apricot’

This lovely geum was a present from Angie last year – both plants have taken well and are flowering their socks off. I am assured by Angie that they will also have a second flowering later in the year.

Ajuga Reptans 'Mint Chip'

Ajuga Reptans ‘Mint Chip’

This was also a new plant last year – who could resist buying a plant called ‘Mint Chip’.

Anemone coronaria Mr Fokker

Anemone coronaria ‘Mr Fokker’

This was a plant I first saw on someone’s blog  – it is certainly worth having. That said I don’t do well with anemones and find they don’t usually flower more than one year. I hope this one does better.

White tulip and Bowle's Mauve

Tulip ‘Tres Chic’ and Erysimum ‘Bowle’s Mauve’.

I love the shape of these white tulips, and don’t they look good with the purple Erysimum ‘Bowle’s Mauve’.

Rhododendron 'Janet Blair'

Rhododendron ‘Janet Blair’

This is one plant that has been in the garden from the beginning – it always puts on a good show.

And finally here is one little area that I have been quite pleased with.

A little cameo

A little cameo shot made up of Persicaria ‘Red Dragon’, Geum ‘Leonard’s variety’, Tiarella ‘Spring Symphony’, Uncinua rubra and peeping out on the left my newish Erysimum ‘Winter Passion’. Waiting in the wings are my red Oriental poppies and purple Alliums.

 

19 thoughts on “Looking Good in the Garden

    • Thank you. It is amazing isn’t it. We are guilty sometimes of taking it for granted. I haven’t seen your posts for a while – I think WordPress must have dropped you as it tends to do sometimes. Will rectify it.

  1. The poppy looks like a wonderful red suk dress. The tulip probably is Queen if the Night, Jan Reis is red. If you do a search on my blog you’ll be able to see it.

  2. Good that Christina was so certain about the tulip! Looks like Queen of the Night to me. What a pretty orange geum that is and your poppy pics are good enough to eat.

  3. Lovely May flowers Annette. I love the Geum. How lovely the silky Oriental poppies are. Mine aren’ t out yet but my tulips are long gone. That certainly looks like Queen of the Night.

    • Thanks Chloris. Those poppies are really lovely when they are first out. I can’t believe I am ahead of gardeners down south either – I guess my poppies are in full sun and we have had some good weather lately. Yes I think I must have muddled my labels – typical of me!

  4. Wow Annette! Your garden is looking gorgeous. I love your red poppies in particular and the beautiful apricot geum. Fabulous photos too! Thanks very much for joining in with Looking Good this week. You are most welcome to participate whenever you like.

    • Thank you so much Annette. About 6 weeks to go – I wonder how the season will go this year. I must check how far behind last year we are, but maybe things catch up anyway?

  5. I have decided to plant some poppies in my garden. I will be headed for the nursery this week to get some new perennials to fill in some spaces. Thanks for sharing these beautiful photos. They inspired me.

    • Thanks Pat. Poppies do give such pleasure when they open – I prefer these big blowsy oriental poppies to the icelandic ones. I also love the annual ones you can grow from seed – Ladybird poppies. You might still be in time for those. Hope you find some.

  6. Pingback: End of Month View: May in Aberdeen | My Aberdeen Garden

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

