End of Month Views: June and July

I have been rather absent from blogging recently. It started with a lovely holiday in the South Tyrol in June, but then it was full steam ahead to get my garden ready for a charity open day in July. More about that later, but for now I need to catch up with the End of Month Views for June and July. I vowed I would keep up this year and I did indeed take the required photos – but that was it!

On the other hand I have finally produced a plan of the garden which I have been intending to do ever since I saw Cathy’s plan. I have to admit, though, that the reason I was finally motivated enough was that I have entered a Garden of the Year competition run by our local newspaper.  The prizes include tickets to Chelsea next year!  We had to submit 200 words saying why our garden is special, up to 6 photos and a plan. I ended up writing a poem as I couldn’t fit everything I wanted to say into plain text. That could have scuppered my chances though as I am not usually one to wax lyrical.

Anyway back to the garden. This is what the Romantic border looked like in May,

Romantic border looking more romantic this month

Romantic border in May.

It is difficult to beat the view with the Clematis, but here is the same view in June.

The romantic border at the end of June

The romantic border at the end of June

The Clematis and Tulips are gone to be replaced by the wonderful Geranium x magnificum. This geranium is very popular with bees, but it is one that doesn’t reflower if you cut it back.

This geranium is loved by the bees

This geranium is loved by the bees

Looking right towards the bottom of the garden you can see another clump of the blue geranium and in the background a puce coloured Geranium psilostemon.

June looking right

Looking left,

Looking right

Looking left

The delphiniums put on a fantastic show this year.

Delphiniums

Delphiniums

The garden has really enjoyed all the rain and most plants have done better than usual.

The honeysuckle was no exception.

Honeysuckle

Honeysuckle

My trumpet honeysuckle even put in a very rare appearance.

Lonicera sempervirens

Lonicera sempervirens

The Alpine Mint (Prostanthera cuneata) is a small aromatic shrub well worth growing.

Prostanthera cuneata

Prostanthera cuneata

I planted a new variety of Dutch Iris last year.

Red Dutch iris

Dutch Iris ‘Red Ember’

I expected these to be more red, but I suppose they are different from the blue ones.

Blue Dutch Iris

Dutch Iris Black Beauty

Which do you prefer?

Anyway to get up to date here is the End of Month view for July.

The Romantic border in July

The Romantic border in July

It is all change again. The Geraniums are finished and the pink Astilbe is fully out. That is a rather vivid pink Cosmos behind it – a bit brighter than I expected!  In the middle you can see some lovely white Viola cornuta ‘Alba’ – a present from a gardening friend last year. You may also be able to see the penstemon ‘Husker’s Red’ which much prefers this sunny position and has produced some very pretty white blooms.

Penstemon 'Husker's Red'

Penstemon ‘Husker’s Red’

In July looking right

Looking right

Looking right

Looking left

Looking left

Looking left

I love this time of the year in the main border. The delphiniums are over but there are lots of vivid reds and oranges coming out. The Crocosmia ‘Lucifer’ look magnificent and the Salvia ‘Royal Bumble’ is bigger and better this year.

I think that is more than enough for one post – I will show you some photos of my charity open day shortly with more garden photos.

 

 

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “End of Month Views: June and July

  1. Enjoyable post Annette. Nice to see the changes. Geranium x magnificum is really lovely. Glad you Husker’s Red Penstemon bloomed for you. Good luck with the contest.

    • These geraniums put on a magnificent display every year and they spread quite quickly so you can soon have a decent size clump or two or three! The delphiniums I just bought from a DIY store about three years ago. They have become more magnificent every year. They don’t seem to suffer from slug damage as much as the lupins do. You can buy some wonderful blues too if you order a named variety.

  2. Well done Annette on drawing up for plan – it may be a challenge at the time but you will be glad you have done it and at least you have got the basis of one which you can tweak alter if you want or if you change the garden. Had a little giggle as I thought you had got ‘witty climbers’ on one of your boundaries… (it said ‘with’…)! My G magnifucum originally came from my teenage family home and has seen three moves – I have always loved it although mine probably needs some TLC as it hasn’t looked especially magificent this year, unlike yours! Your delphinium is amazing – what a bargain buy that was! You must be thrilled to see your borders looking so full – and it makes for good photos for the competition!

    • Thanks Cathy. It did take a bit of work and I had to borrow some colouring pencils! Witty climbers was rather funny! My Geraniums do get split up regularly as they seem to spread very quickly. It certainly keeps them looking good, but they are also have prime positions in the garden as regards sun.

  3. And I meant to say how intriguing your plan was – I had not envisaged your garden like this at all and was certainly unaware of the full extent of it

  4. It is difficult during the busy gardening time to find time to do much blogging. I like the alpine mint shrub, how big will it become? The map is very impressive, good luck with the competition.

    • Thanks Brian. The mint shrub doesn’t get very big – well not in my garden. They don’t seem to be very long lived, though I have had this one for three or four years now and it is only about .5 metre. RHS has its ultimate height in 10 – 20 years as .5 to 1 metre in both height and width. They hedge their bets don’t they! It seems to need full sun and a sheltered spot not being fully hardy (H4). Well worth growing though if you need a small everygreen shrub with lovely aromatic leaves and white flowers.

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

