Garden update: August

At the beginning of  August we had some visitors and I was given two wonderful new plants.

Leadwort

I now believe this is Ceratostigma Plumbaginoids.

leadwort

Now I have identified it, I need to find it a home in the garden.  It needs a fairly sheltered spot that is moist but we’ll drained and in full sun.  I think I may have a place. . .

The other plant was a lovely yellow dahlia with contrasting dark leaves. I think I will keep this in its pot for now and beg a home for it in a friend’s greenhouse for the winter.

yellow dahlia

Around the middle of the month we heard rumours that we might be in for some strong winds. I thought it might be an idea to tie in some of the plants again.

The perennial sweet pea had grown a lot in a month.

peren sweet pea before

I took the opportunity to cut all the flowers while I was on a stepladder tying in its unruly stems.

peren sweet peas result

And the result a rather bare, but much tidier plant, fully prepared for all nature could throw at it.

peren sweet pea after

Just as well I did, as look at our garden the night after the storm.

storm damage

The rest of the borders looked as if Autumn had come early too.

leaves house border

Most of the garden survived surprisingly well and many things are still flowering.

Sweet pea,white and mauve

Sweet pea,white and mauve

These are a lovely white sweet pea called Norman Wisdom. They are described by  Mr Fothergills as ‘One of the best whites available’. I would have to agree, except some of the plants were not white at all – they were   lilac! I think a neighbour had the same batch of seeds too as I noticed the same  colour combination against her fence. It could look quite pretty, but it does clash rather badly with my nasturtium.

sweet pea clash

The rockery still has some colour.

rockery August

I have been really pleased with my dwarf Perovskia and am determined to add a couple more plants this Autumn. It looks lovely with the Erigeron.

perovskia and erigeron

The blue gentian is just coming out now.

gentian large

gentian

The long border  is still looking ok but the heleniums and verbena are looking a bit tipsy; I must make a better job of staking them next year.

long border August

The star of the border this month is the rosa with its wonderful hips that are changing from orange to red.

rosehips close up

There are other signs of Autumn too in the garden. .

cherry tree colour

The cherry is showing signs of red and many plants have produced seeds.

Gazania seed head

Gazania seed head

Foxglove seeds

Foxglove seeds

But summer is not yet over – I saw not one but three butterflies the other day and they were all different; a Red Admiral, a Peacock and a Tortoishell. You will have to take my word for it, though, as this is the only photo I managed to get!

butterfly on rose

The garden has lasted surprisingly well considering that it got going so early this year. And there are still the asters to come out. . .

Next Garden Update: Garden Blogger’s Foliage Day: The Foggy Foggy Dew

26 thoughts on “Garden update: August

  1. Glad to read you are now getting butterflies – they are very conspicuous by their absence down here thus far.
    What a heck of a mess those winds left behind. You garden does look great in spite of the though.
    Like the new header picture, it’s a lovely scene.

  2. Great to be given new plants, isn’t it? Interesting about your sweet pea mix – I had a packet that weren’t all that they should have been too! Your long border does still look good and your rose hips are gorgeous – I am trying to decide on some roses for the hedge at the back of my new bed and it would be good to have some with lovely hips like these.

    • Hi Cathy,
      Chloris identified this rose for me as Rosa moyesii ‘Geranium’. It is a lovely rose, though I did see a larger version of it at Crathes Castle recently, so I am not sure how big it is going to get. The rose hips have now turned from orange to red – they are gorgeous.

  3. I think I have the very same dahlia, if you can’t find the name I’ll see if I can dig it out here.
    The ceratostigma is a nice plant, I hope it does well for you. You’ve reminded me that I meant to plant a few pink colchicums amongst its blue flowers. I hope there’s still time!
    The rose hips are my favorite though. They show up well in your border, although there’s still plenty of other colors in there. Looks great!
    Frank

  4. Your rose hips are wonderful, I’m sure your wildlife will enjoy them all. Plants given as gifts are such wonderful presents as they just keep getting better and better as the years go by. The blue of your gentians is such an electric blue and such a contrast to all the other autumnal flowers, they’re beautiful.

    • Thanks Pauline. That gentian is doing really well. I have had it a few years now. I hope I can look after the plants ok. The ceratostigma came from a much warmer garden and I haven’t over wintered dahlias before.

  5. Pingback: Garden Bloggers Foliage Day: Space Invaders | My Aberdeen Garden

  6. Pingback: Victorias at Last. | My Aberdeen Garden

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.